Destroyer - City Of Daughters


This variant is currently sold out

The 1998 sophomore release from Vancouver legends Destroyer.

Indie magnate Dan Bejar and company turn it up a notch with City of Daughters--17 tracks of impeccable songwriting.

"Since recording his first record as Destroyer in 1996 with the almost impenetrably lo-fi We'll Build Them a Golden Bridge, Destroyer mastermind Bejar has taken one frustrating turn after another, incorporating a significantly new approach to his music with each subsequent album. City of Daughters, the sophomore effort and his first masterpiece, was a natural, albeit far more enjoyable and consistent, progression from Bridge, but Thief would mark his first movement into more complex structures and grandiose pop arrangements." - Cokemachineglow

Learn more about Destroyer at

Learn more about Scratch Records at

Possible influences include: Bob Dylan, The New Pornographers, Leonard Cohen, The Shins

Previews - City Of Daughters

01. Comments On the World As Will - Listen!
02. No Cease Fires - Listen!
03. The Space Race - Listen!
04. Dark Purposes - Listen!
05. Emax I - Listen!
06. I Want This Cyclops - Listen!
07. Loves of a Gnostic - Listen!
08. Emax II - Listen!
09. State of the Union - Listen!
10. School, and the Girls Who Go There - Listen!
11. Melanie and Jennifer and Melanie - Listen!
12. War On Jazz - Listen!
13. Emax III - Listen!
14. You Were So Cruel - Listen!
15. Signs - Listen!
16. Rereading the Marble Faun - Listen!
17. Son of the Earth - Listen!

Hear all samples at once - Listen!

Bonus - Album package comes with complete artwork including three PDF pages.

Album File Size - MP3 Format - 55.39 MB
Album File Size - CD-quality Lossless FLAC Format - 235.93 MB

Share this

Pin Post Plus

Similar Products