Nathan Lawr - Secret Carpentry


This variant is currently sold out

On his first solo album, "The Heart Beats A Waltz", this former Royal City drummer debuted his song writing skills to enthusiastic response. It was a spectacular collection of rootsy, heartfelt tunes blistering with desolation and mystery.

Inspired by Neil Young and the Blue Note jazz of the 60's as well as his experiences with "A Midwinter Night's Dream" (a 5-piece band made up of singing/songwriters who toured last winter as a band and made a 10 song recording, done entirely in one day) and a U.S. tour drumming for the Constantines, Nathan wanted this next album to feel like a series of captured live performances rather than simply a collection of songs. As well, having played most of the instruments on his first record himself, he wanted to let his friends in the Minotaurs add to his ideas.

The result is "Secret Carpentry". Raw and exposed, the live nature of the performances give the songs a strong vibe and vulnerable magic. Nathan enlisted the engineering skills of Andy Magoffin (Royal City, Jim Guthrie, Bryan Borcherdt), Jeff McMurrich (Sea Snakes, Martin Tielli, the Constantines) and Howie Beck (Jason Collett) to attempt to capture musical events as they happened in the studio. Each song on the record appears just as it was when it was being recorded with a minimum of overdubs. "I wanted the record to be bare. I wanted to let the songs be what they are and add only what was absolutely necessary to get the point across," he says, "I didn't want to add things just for the sake of adding them." The strength of these songs are a result of Nathan's growing skills as a writer and performer. This fall, Nathan takes to the road again with "A Midautumn Night's Dream", joining Kate Maki, Dale Murray, Ruth Minnikin and Ryan Bishops on a 30 date tour from coast to coast.

Learn more about Nathan Lawr at

Possible influences include: Mark Kozalek, The Band, The Palace Brothers

Previews - Secret Carpentry

1. Bury me blues - Listen!
2. Put your money - Listen!
3. Shaking like a rake - Listen!
4. Covering up - Listen!
5. Bring your sting - Listen!
6. Suitcase on the lawn - Listen!
7. Should and shouldn't - Listen!
8. Holder of the thread - Listen!
9. Empty trees - Listen!

Hear all samples at once - Listen!

Album File Size - MP3 Format - 40.29 MB

Share this

Pin Post Plus

Similar Products