Selina Martin - Disaster Fantasies


This variant is currently sold out

The 2010 release from Selina Martin.

"The flurry of pop punches that introduces Miss Martin's third album jellies up the knees, so when the suggestion to "Breathe In" comes around on track five, that's basically all you can do. Her "Can rock" guitar attack is backed by a fine storytelling ear for detail and savvy avoidance of the traffic merge that strands other female artists in the carpool lane. Time spent working with Dave Bidini and Martin Tielli on the Five Hole Band's Tales of Hockey Erotica transfers over in the form of brave studio experimentation. Vocal layering, singing saws and wine glasses, plus guest kalimba by Laura Barrett, take many tracks into a nice twilight zone of sound." - Read the full review at

"There is something to be said for being reckless. Selina Martin's new album Disaster Fantasies takes no prisoners and no heed of traditional musical genres. While essentially pop music, if you throw on any random track you could hear a punk thrasher, a sweet acoustic ballad or a hard rocker. Such a potpourri is a dicey proposition, but Martin's vitality and exuberance give the album a degree of honesty that holds it all together." - Vue Weekly

"Selina Martin has always oozed charisma, but here the Toronto performer has a set of songs that matches her grand ambitions and her love of glam, prog, punk, folk, balladry—and Rush. Every song sounds like a smash hit, making this without question the most underrated Canadian album of the year". - Michael Barclay, The Record

"She’s definitely a lifetime resident in the tower of song…. Breathe In, .. one of the best Canadian songs of the year" - Robert Everett-Green, The Globe & Mail

Learn more about this band at

Possible influences include: Martin Tielli, Joni Mitchell and Blue Rodeo

Previews - Disaster Fantasies

01. Public Safety Management -
02. Always on My Mind -
03. No Form -
04. Rape During Wartime -
05. Beathe In -
06. The Hottest Day -
07. The Spirit of Radio -
08. News of Her Death -
09. I Know Dullness -
10. Throw Me in the Water -
11. Spider -
12. Watershed -

Hear all samples at once - Listen!

Bonus - Album package comes with artwork including two PDF pages.

Album File Size - MP3 Format - 71.05 MB
Album File Size - CD-Quality Lossless FLAC Format - 262.19 MB

Share this

Pin Post Plus

Similar Products